The details of the Basketball Champions League draw

Nikos Stavropoulos will be traveling to Geneva on Wednesday for the draw of the Basketball Champions League group stage as well as that of the two qualification rounds that will be taking place Thursday noon (July 4) at the “House of Basketball”.

PAOK is among the 24 teams that have secured their participation in the group stage, while is also in the first seeded group according to the special ranking of the competition (teams and countries).

The following 12 teams are in the first group: PΑΟΚ, ΑΕΚ (Greece), Banvit (Τurkey), Besiktas (Τurkey), Brose Bamberg (Germany), CEZ Nymburk (Czech Republic), Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari (Ιtaly), Filo Oostende (Βelgium), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (Ιsrael), Iberostar Tenerife (Spain), Neptunas Klaipeda (Lithuania), SIG Strasbourg (France).

The following 12 teams make the second seeded group: Peristeri (Greece), Anwil Wloclawek (Poland), BAXI Manresa (Spain), Elan Béarnais Pau-Lacq-Orthez (France), Gaziantep (Τurkey), Happy Casa Brindisi (Ιtaly), JDA Dijon (France), RASTA Vechta (Germany), Tecnyconta Zaragoza (Spain), Turk Telekom (Τurkey), UNET Holon (Ιsrael), VEF Riga (Latvia).

The above 24 teams are going to be joined by another eight, who will come out of the two qualification rounds.

The 32 teams are going to be separated into 4 groups of 8 teams each, with the top 4 to qualify for the competition playoffs. Two teams from the qualification rounds are going to be entering each one of the 4 groups, while during the group stage as well as that of the qualifying rounds, no teams from the same country can be placed. The group stage games are going to begin on October 15.

1st & 2nd qualifying rounds

Sixteen teams, in two seeding groups are going to be participating the 1st qualifying round.

1st round: Bakken Bears (Denmark), Balkan Botevgrad (Βulgaria), CSM CSU Oradea (Romania), Donar Groningen (The Netherlands), Fribourg Olympic (Switzerland), Kyiv-Basket (Ukraine), Legia Warszawa (Poland), Tsmoki-Minsk (Belorussia).

2nd group: Falco Szombathely (Hungary), Inter Bratislava (Slovakia), Kapfenberg Bulls (Αustria), Karhu Basket Kauhajoki (Finland), Keravnos (Cyprus), SL Benfica (Portugal), Södertälje Kings (Sweden), Z-Mobile Prishtina (Kosovo).

The games of the 1st qualifying round will be held on September 17 and 20, with the teams that are in the 1st group to play the first game at home.

The 8 teams that will qualify will be paired with one of the 8 teams that are already in the 2nd qualifying round. These are:

Lietkabelis (Lithuania), Nizhny Novgorod (Russia), Mornar Bar (Μontenegro), Polski Cukier Torun (Poland), San Pablo Burgos (Spain), Telekom Baskets Bonn (Germany), Telenet Giants Antwerp (Βelgium), Ventspils (Λatvia).

The two games are going to be taking place on September 26 and 29 with the teams that are already in the 2nd round hosting the second game at home.

The draw will begin at 11:00 CET and will be broadcast live from the official web page of the competition (

Back to Top